ThunderCap

ThunderCap

More Views

ThunderCap
$0.00
 
Click Here to View Sizing Chart

Last year I met one of your representatives at a trade show. She was kind enough to give me a CalmingCap to try in our groom shop. I have to admit that I used it on a couple of crazy dogs with no success. However, this morning I was grooming an older, anxious Cairn Terrier who was losing his eyesight and his hearing. He would NOT stand still. He bit at both myself and another groomer helping me hold him. I thought about the calming cap sitting on my shelf and thought I’d give it a try. Wow! It worked beautifully! He settled down and I was able to finish the groom with no fuss. I think I was using it for the wrong reason. It works on anxious dogs, but not crazy or aggressive dogs. I am now your biggest fan! Thank you!

Availability: In stock

Description

Details

 
Reviews

Customer Reviews 12 item(s)

Pudd'n & the ThunderCap!
Greatest invention ever! The ThunderCap! Pudd'n is a maniac in the car, she attacks every vehicle, mailbox, cow... you get the idea. I put this on her yesterday and we went for a ride, barely heard a peep! It filters the light and calms her down considerably. I can drive without wearing ear plugs!
Rating
Review by Kerry Bell / (Posted on 12/8/2015)
Calming the Hound of the Baskervilles
My rescue dog has no problems with fireworks, thunder or any other noise, but car travel has been a nightmare. My obedient, loving, laid-back dog turned into the Hound of the Baskervilles in the car. I tried de-sensitisation treatment and this helped him get into the car and I turned on the engine, but I couldn't go any farther than the driveway without him barking and screaming. I tried a number of products, but these did not help. However, the CalmingCap has done wonders. It has reduced the noise he makes and we can now go on car journeys with less stress. He still does not like car travel, but at least he can tolerate it. And he doesn't mind wearing the CalmingCap - even wearing it indoors when he has a nap.
Rating
Review by Jill Neville / (Posted on 3/17/2015)
ThunderCap allowed her to get used to being out in public.
I used your ThunderCap on my very fearful Border Collie mix (McNab type) when I was in the CBA class. Although she couldn’t tolerate being in a place with so many people, she was able to sit quietly in the Marin HS auditorium with the cap in place. I also used it to allow her to sit with me at Peet’s and not be terrified.

The effect it had on her was apparently to keep her from seeing that people were looking AT her. She could tolerate hearing them and having them pass by when she had the cap on, but pulled away and tried to escape when it was off. I found it a very effective tool for her. She is now able to walk almost anywhere with me, and to sit without trying to escape in public places. She lets strangers pet her now. I don’t need to use it any longer, but it clearly allowed her to get used to being out in public.
Rating
Review by ThunderCap allowed her to get used to being out in public. / (Posted on 12/12/2014)
Wow! It worked beautifully!
Last year I met one of your representatives at a trade show. She was kind enough to give me a CalmingCap to try in our groom shop. I have to admit that I used it on a couple of crazy dogs with no success. However, this morning I was grooming an older, anxious Cairn Terrier who was losing his eyesight and his hearing. He would NOT stand still. He bit at both myself and another groomer helping me hold him. I thought about the calming cap sitting on my shelf and thought I’d give it a try. Wow! It worked beautifully! He settled down and I was able to finish the groom with no fuss. I think I was using it for the wrong reason. It works on anxious dogs, but not crazy or aggressive dogs. I am now your biggest fan! Thank you!
Rating
Review by Wow! It worked beautifully! / (Posted on 12/12/2014)
ThunderCap has made a HUGE positive difference...
Crazy-dog Tigger has to wear a ThunderCap in the car to preserve his serenity, and our eardrums. Mellow Bodie, who’s sitting next to him, does not wear one.

You can tell how relaxed Tigger is with his ThunderCap on, even though he knows we’re on our way to somewhere exciting and fun.

I took care to acclimate him to wearing it. Now he just knows it’s part of the car routine, no big deal. It’s made a HUGE positive difference, driving with him in the car. So, thank you for inventing ThunderCap!
Rating
Review by ThunderCap has made a HUGE positive difference... / (Posted on 12/12/2014)
Paws & Effect Grooming Spa
Last year I met one of your representatives at a trade show. She was kind enough to give me a calming cap to try in our groom shop. I have to admit that I used it on a couple of crazy dogs with no success. However, this morning I was grooming an older, anxious Cairn Terrier who was losing his eyesight and his hearing. He would NOT stand still. He bit at both myself and another groomer helping me hold him. I thought about the calming cap sitting on my shelf and thought I'd give it a try. Wow! It worked beautifully! He settled down and I was able to finish the groom with no fuss. I think I was using it for the wrong reason. It works on anxious dogs, but not crazy or aggressive dogs. I am now your biggest fan! Thank you!


Rating
Review by Paws & Effect Grooming Spa / (Posted on 10/24/2013)
Dog: Tigger
Crazy-dog Tigger has to wear a cap in the car to preserve his serenity, and our eardrums. Mellow Bodie, who's sitting next to him, does not wear one.



You can tell how relaxed Tigger is with it on, even though he knows we're on our way to somewhere exciting and fun.



I took care to acclimate him to wearing it. Now he just knows it's part of the car routine, no big deal. It's made a HUGE positive difference, driving with him in the car. So, thank you for inventing it!
Rating
Review by Owner: Linda / (Posted on 10/15/2013)
The calming cap helped her...
I used it again on my Whippet adolescent, who was overly aroused by animals on tv. She would growl, bark and lunge at the tv screen when any animals were shown. I held her next to me on the couch, and put the calming cap on, and let her watch the animals on tv (with sound). She was able to tolerate it and stay on the couch without trying to attack the screen. We did many sessions with the cap, and she now can tolerate brief animal appearances on tv without barking/attacking. Again, I think the calming cap helped her to get used to the on screen animals without becoming so aroused she had to attack. The dog still watches too much tv. :-)
Rating
Review by The calming cap helped her... / (Posted on 7/26/2012)
Calming Cap allowed her to get used to being in public...
I used your calming cap on my very fearful Border Collie mix (McNab type) when I was in a CBA class. Although she couldn't tolerate being in a place with so many people, she was able to sit quietly in the Marin HS auditorium with the cap in place. I also used it to allow her to sit with me at Peet's and not be terrified. The effect it had on her was apparently to keep her from seeing that people were looking AT her. She could tolerate hearing them and having them pass by when she had the cap on, but pulled away and tried to escape when it was off. I found it a very effective tool for her. She is now able to walk almost anywhere with me, and to sit without trying to escape in public places. She lets strangers pet her now. I don't need to use it any longer, but it clearly allowed her to get used to being out in public.


Rating
Review by Calming Cap allowed her to get used to being in public... / (Posted on 7/26/2012)
My clients felt more confident...
Calming Cap provides a simple and easy to use aid for training highly stimulated dogs. Dogs adjust quickly to wearing the Calming Cap, and there’s no fear or pain involved. I’ve demonstrated the effectiveness of the Calming Cap on some of my clients’ dogs, and upon seeing their over-the-top” dog suddenly relaxed, my clients felt more confident and hopeful about embarking on their dog’s further training. You might say using the Calming Cap is a twofer deal: calmer dogs create calmer handlers.
Rating
Review by My clients felt more confident... / (Posted on 7/26/2012)
It desensitized him while getting his ears cleaned.
I have an excellent example of the effectiveness of the calming cap.

We had a gentle, large American Bulldog mix foster, named Butchie Boy who got a horrid ear infection and was in considerable pain. He got to the point that if you touched the ear, he will yipe and then growled. The infection required that he be given ear meds twice a day and a flushing once a day. Using Tramadol, the calming cap and boiled chicken as the positive reinforcement, we were able to desensitize him to getting his ears cleaned. With the calming cap, it helped to settle him as well as he didn't see the hands going to his ear. It got to where we'd bring out the cap, he'd sit patiently waiting for the chicken/salmon and once the cap was on - actually bent his body toward our voice so we could medicate his ear.
Rating
Review by It desensitized him while getting his ears cleaned. / (Posted on 7/26/2012)
He was able to go to the vet without a problem...
My Rottweiler rescue didn't have the greatest trust of people when I first got him. Never aggressive, but always wary. When it came time to go to the vet. and get into that small room, though, he wouldn't let anyone touch him. I could see him getting aggressive very easily at that point. With the Calming Cap and his squeaky bunny clutched in his mouth that changed. After a few vet. visits wearing the cap, and in addition to some kind hands and words I was eventually able to take the Calming Cap off and he was able to go to the vet without a problem. He still had to have the bunny, but the change was huge. Ultimately, being able to trust the vet. may have saved his life because later he developed sepsis and needed a ton of veterinary, some of it very quickly.
Rating
Review by He was able to go to the vet without a problem... / (Posted on 7/26/2012)